Tags

, , , , ,

If you saw the movie “Gods and Generals” then this quote will be very familiar. It is Stonewall Jackson’s simple views on how he deals with fear, or the control of it.

“General” I remarked, “How is it that you can keep so cool and appear so utterly insensible to danger in such a storm of shell and bullets as rained about you when your hand was hit?” He instantly became grave and reverential in his manner, and answered, in a low tone of great earnestness: “Captain, my religious belief teaches me to feel as safe in battle as in bed. God has fixed the time for my death. I do not concern myself about that, but to be always ready, no matter when it may overtake me.” He added, after a pause, looking me full in the face: “That is the way all men should live, and then all would be equally brave”

Lt. General Thomas Jackson speaking to then Captain John D. Imboden,
“Stonewall Jackson and the American Civil War”
G.F.R Henderson

